Prizes / sponsor

The winning team and runner up teams are announced shortly after the close of the competition window.


The winning team will receive £300 with £200 for the second placed team and £100 for the third placed team.

The names and school of the winning team will be inscribed on the physical Braben Cup, which will remain at The Perse School. Photographic mementos of the inscribed cup will be sent to the winning school.

Our latest results are shown below.

Our sponsor

We are delighted to announce that this competition is being sponsored by Dr David Braben OBE FREng in providiDavid B Croppedng the trophy cup and annual prize money.

David is a British game developer, game designer, founder and CEO of Frontier Developments plc, co-creator of the Elite series, space trading computer games, first published in 1984. He is also a co-founder of and works as a trustee for the Raspberry Pi Foundation.

David has been called “one of the most influential computer game programmers of all time” (The Telegraph, 2014), based on his early game development with the Elite series. David was appointed Officer of the Order of the British Empire (OBE) in the 2014 Birthday Honours for services to the UK computer and video games industry. In 2015, Braben was awarded the BAFTA Academy Fellowship Award in video gaming at the 11th British Academy Games Awards.

2019 Results

Distinctions were awarded in the final round to teams scoring 67 or above (top 25%, max 120). Merits were awarded to teams scoring at least 44 (top 50%) with a Higher Participation certificate level set at score 30.

Team 1: The Perse School for a team score of 117
Team 2: The Downs School for a team score of 107
Team 3: The Perse School for a team score of 106

The “top 100” hall of fame team places for 2019 is as follows:

1 The Perse School
2 The Downs School
3 The Perse School
4 Pocklington School
6 The Perse School
8 The Perse School
9 Magdalen College School
10 St Olave’s Grammar School
11 Gresham’s School
12 Magdalen College School
13 St Olave’s Grammar School
14 Magdalen College School
15 Birkdale School
16 St Olave’s Grammar School
17 St Paul’s Juniors
18 The Perse School
19 Bedford Modern
20 National Junior College
21 National Junior College
22 The Portsmouth Grammar School
23 Oundle School
24 Bedford Modern
25 St Paul’s School, Barnes
26 The Manchester Grammar School
27 Robert Gordon’s College
28 City of London School
29 St Paul’s School, Barnes
30 St Paul’s School, Barnes
31 National Junior College
32 National Junior College
33 Magdalen College School
34 Magdalen College School
35 Rendcomb College
36 St Albans School
37 St Albans School
38 King Edward VI Camp Hill School for Boys
39 The Perse School
40 Magdalen College School
41 Dartford Grammar School
42 Reigate Grammar School
43 The Portsmouth Grammar School
44 The Portsmouth Grammar School
45 UCS
46 Dunman High School
47 The Manchester Grammar School
48 Exeter School
49 Truro School
50 The Perse School
51 St Paul’s School, Barnes
52 Bradford Grammar School
53 Jerudong International School
54 George Heriot’s School
55 Helsby High School
56 Brampton Manor Academy
57 Robert Gordon’s College
58 Oundle School
59 Gresham’s School
60 Reigate Grammar School
61 Heritage School
62 King Edward VI Camp Hill School for Boys
63 King Edward VI Camp Hill School for Boys
64 Bridge Academy Hackney
65 St Albans School
66 St Olave’s Grammar School
67 Sawston Village College
68 St Olave’s Grammar School
69 Jerudong International School
70 RGS Guildford
71 City of London School
72 Norwich School
73 The Perse School
74 National Junior College
75 Dartford Grammar School
76 Bishop Luffa School
77 Warwick School
78 Magdalen College School
79 The Portsmouth Grammar School
80 UCS
81 Norwich School
82 St Paul’s School, Barnes
83 George Heriot’s School
84 Dunman High School
85 Sawston Village College
86 UCS
87 Dunman High School
88 Dunman High School
89 Soham Village College
90 Magdalen College School
91 Sawston Village College
92 The Portsmouth Grammar School
93 Withington Girls School
94 Godolphin & Latymer
95 Norwich School
96 King Edward VI Camp Hill School for Boys
97 The Portsmouth Grammar School
98 St Olave’s Grammar School
99 The Perse School
100 Magdalen College School

2018 Results

Entries which satisfied all of the competition requirements were awarded a formal competition placement. All team entries were awarded distinction/merit/participation certificates in the ratio 25%/25%/50%.

Of the formally placed results, congratulations go to:

1. Team C of The Perse School for a score of 168 (max 270)
2. Team A from The Downs for a score of 154
3. Team A from Magdalen College School for a score of 139